Home > General, Markets > Martha’s Vineyard “On Thin Ice”

Martha’s Vineyard “On Thin Ice”

August 25, 2009

Marthas Vineyard 2009 020Having rented a beach house on Martha’s Vineyard, a highly improbable quirk of  scheduling  left Rocky and the entire Humbert Clan as President Obama’s neighbors for the week.  As a “proud American”,  Rocky did not complain when his  tea (and tee)  time were delayed by the Secret Service. 

However, far more onerous than the Presidential Motorcade is Rocky’s experimentation with his vacation house’s Subzero Ice Machine. 

Upon arrival, the beach house ice machine was set to “thick ice,”  with cubes ideal for gin and tonics. But as Rocky likes to live dangerously,  he changed the setting to “thin ice.” 

Several hours later, Trophy Wife asked Rocky, “What happened to the ice machine? There’s no ice.” 

Sure enough, the ice was so “thin,” it was entirely gone. Chastised for his  irresponsible adventures, Rocky restored the settings to “thick ice,” and retired for the evening….

[Disclosure: Rocky has noticed that the markets experience high volatiltiy when Rocky is away from his trading screens. Rocky currently has high speed internet, and so long as the internet remains functional, Rocky expects a quiet week in the markets.  But if his internet connection goes down, then there will be huge price movement.]

  1. Sam
    August 26, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Given your disclosure I would appreciate it if you could find a way to cut off your internet connection. It could potentially be very helpful to me, but then again it could potentially be harmful as well. I’d be willing to take a chance.

    Enjoy your vacation!

  2. August 27, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    And I thought “thin ice” and “thick ice” only referred to frozen lakes, etc. Once again I find fascinating new information here which was heretofore unknown to me.

    You see, I have no icemaker! And I am almost 58! Perhaps my share of the stimulus could be an icemaker. But I insist on a “medium” ice setting as well.

    Factoid: I believe the first icemaker was invented by John Gorrie, in Apalachicola, Florida, a mere 76 miles from me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
